In 1999, the family of John W. Gallivan, a 1937 Notre Dame graduate and long-time Salt Lake City journalist, made a generous contribution to support Notre Dame's journalism program. Read press release (.pdf)

Since then, the program has succeeded thanks to the continued support of generous donors. Several donor initiatives are detailed here.

Sandra and John McCullough Scholarships

Since 2007, Sandra and John McCullough Scholarships in Journalism or Government have supported Notre Dame students interested in careers in elected office, a government agency, or public affairs journalism. Each spring sophomores and juniors participating in the Gallivan Program are invited to apply for a McCullough Scholarship, which involves the writing of an essay and submitting a student’s transcript of classes.

Besides this scholarship program, the McCullough Lecture in Responsible Journalism and Government is a series of lectures on the Notre Dame campus that seeks to promote greater understanding of journalistic and governmental work as a form of public service.

John McCullough, a 1955 Notre Dame alumnus, is a retired broadcast journalist, who is a member of both the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame and the Milwaukee Press Club Hall of Fame. He began his career in television news at WNDU in South Bend.

Keifer Endowment for Excellence in Journalism

The Marguerite and Lou Keifer Endowment for Excellence in Journalism was inaugurated in 1999 to enable the Gallivan Program to bring prominent senior journalists to Notre Dame as Keifer Visitors in Journalism. Each Keifer Visitor spends several days on campus, speaking in classes sponsored by the Gallivan Program and meeting with students enrolled in the Gallivan Program. Some also deliver public lectures to the University community.

Keifer Visitors are journalists with extensive experience as reporters, columnists, editors, or producers. In all cases, they are asked to discuss journalistic values and standards in their presentations to classes.

The Keifer Endowment for Excellence in Journalism was established by 1950 Notre Dame alumnus Louis F. Keifer Jr. to honor his parents.

Harry Ornest Memorial Award in Sports Journalism

The Harry Ornest Memorial Award in Sports Journalism was announced in the spring of 2007. The annual award to a student enrolled in the John W. Gallivan Program in Journalism, Ethics and Democracy includes a 10-week summer internship at The Los Angeles Times.

The internship, donated by the Ornest Family Foundation, is named for the late Harry Ornest, well-known team owner and sports executive, who died in 1998. A longtime resident of Beverly Hills, Ca., Ornest owned the Vancouver Triple-A baseball team of the Pacific Coast League from 1977 to 1981, the St. Louis Blues of the National Hockey League from 1983 to 1987 and the Toronto Argonauts of the Canadian Football League from 1988 to 1991. At the time of his death, he was vice chairman of the board of directors of Hollywood Park race track.

The Ornest Family Foundation designated Notre Dame's Gallivan Program in Journalism, Ethics and Democracy as institutional administrator of the award. It also designated The Los Angeles Times sports department for the annual summer placement of an intern interested in a career in sports journalism. The Ornest Memorial Award includes a scholarship for the recipient’s senior year at Notre Dame.